Home

I brought a plant home. Yes, to my plant-free house. I haven’t been able to keep indoor plants alive, although, I thoroughly enjoy my outdoor backyard garden of roses and other seasonal plants. 

At the same time, I’m grieving the loss of my brother, Francis. I’m determined to remember “Jamar” and keep his memory alive. I’ve been lighting candles and praying. I will add caring for my Peace Lilly, “FJG” to my rituals and routines. I’m starting with 3 out of 15 steps. 

Beginning Care

After a general Google search, I used Wikihow

  1. FJG will live in my living room. Peace lilies are native to hot, moist, shady tropical rainforests. Thus, in most temperate climates, they cannot be left outside year-round. However, inside, where it is usually relatively warm and humid compared to the outside environment, the plant can do well. The peace lily should be close to, but not directly under a window in a warm room in your house where it will benefit from indirect sunlight. North or West facing windows are best as these do not allow direct sunlight all day. Try to avoid exposing your plant to cold air or too much sun, as these can cause the plant to become unhealthy and develop brown, shriveled leaves.  I live in Greece (Suburban Rochester, NY).  The climate is very cold (especially in the winter). For this reason, my FJG will live indoors on a large bookshelf/desk-like top in my living room. While it will allow light, it is not directly under a window or within the reach of direct sunlight. 
  2. Water the peace lily adequately. The best care you can give your peace lily is to water it attentively. When (and only when) the potted soil is dry, add enough water to make it damp, but not so much as to create standing water. Too little water will cause the plant to wilt and die – in fact, if you neglect to water your plant, you should be able to see it visibly droop. However, too much water can cause a condition called root rot which can be fatal to the plant. Aim to water about once per week , when the soil is dry. It is sometimes recommended to even wait until the plant has begun to wilt ever-so-slightly before each watering. I water my FJG on Monday mornings. 
  3. Mist the leaves several times a week with a spray bottle. Peace lilies thrive in the high humidity levels of the tropics, so, in addition to watering the soil, regularly mist your lily with a spray bottle to replicate the humid air of the rain forest. Mist your plant more frequently in the summer growing season- the more water you can supply the blooms, the healthier it will be. I mist FJG’s leaves on Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday’s.

The WikiHow has 12 other steps that I will consult as needed.

-Syn  

Leave a Reply

