Home

My flag tore

Like my blind faith

My patriotism and my proud to be an American spirit

The way a heart tears

And bleeds

When cobwebs are removed from eyes

Less innocence and ambivalence 

Like the first time you’re a victim of hate speech

Or hear about slavery 
Before waking up

Clad in red, white, and blue 

Then falling asleep 

On flag day 

On my Americanism

On my flag

But who’s flag is it

Is it mine?

What rights do I have?

I respect veterans

I pledged Girl Scout honor daily for most of my  life

I love what my ancestors created and left for me

I recognize there’s work to be done

I’m standing here

Not with intentional disdain

Not totally patriotic

Me

Cornrows and stars

Stripes

And life

Leave a Reply

